The Grand Budapest Hotel: Mini Chocolate Cream Puffs

The Grand Budapest Hotel, the latest and greatest movie by Wes Anderson, is full of whimsy, humor, and an undeniably Wes Anderson color palette. As this is one of my  favorites of Anderson’s assortment of films, I thought what better film to start my descent into blogging than The Grand Budapest Hotel? In the film, there is a small bakery known as Mendl’s. Mendl’s is known for their Courtesan Au Chocolat, a small stacked pastry consisting of three chocolate custard filled puffs. This is what Mendl’s Courtesan Au Chocolat looks like:

enhanced-9095-1394559536-9

As I am just starting out in my baking ventures, I though I would make Mendl’s inspired mini chocolate filled puffs. I followed the recipe for the Courtesan Au Chocolat, which can be found here along with step-by-step instructions and a video that was featured on The Grand Budapest Hotel’s  DVD extras menu. Instead of icing each individual puff and stacking them atop each other, I sprinkled edible glitter on the mini puffs and topped with powdered sugar. Here’s the end result:

IMG_0570

Next movie night immerse yourself in The Grand Budapest Hotel with these bright, quirky treats!

This entry was posted in Movies, Snacks, Wes Anderson and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

